Getting pulled over by the police, getting charged with a crime, and having your license suspended can be difficult. If the cops suspend or revoke your driver’s license, you may be left facing different adversities, mainly if you depend heavily on your car. You may wonder if there is any way to fight the suspension of your driver’s license in California. Our Ventura criminal defense attorneys at the Law Offices of Bamieh and de Smeth, PLC, invite you to keep reading as we discuss whether you can get your license back after a suspension in California.
Reinstating a Suspended Driver’s License in California
There may be many people who think getting their driver’s license suspended is the end of the world. While getting your license suspended may bring a set of unwanted troubles, you can still get it reinstated, provided you meet the requirements set forth by the state. For instance, one of the things you will need to do if you wish to reinstate your driver’s license is completing a mandatory suspension program. The state requires all suspended drivers to go through this program as a way to educate drivers and avoid additional penalties moving forward. If you were convicted and sent to jail, you need to finish your sentence before attempting to reinstate your license.
In addition to completing your program or jail sentence, you will need to collect all relevant documentation pertaining to your license suspension and reinstatement and submit it to your local DMV office. The relevant and essential information you will need to provide to the DMV includes insurance information. You will be required to show proof of insurance before reinstating your driver’s license. You must keep your information up to date and provide accurate and complete data. You will also need to pay any applicable fee your case may require, such as reinstatement fees.
Reasons for License Suspensions in California
Many things can lead to a driver’s license suspension in California. California traffic laws are stringent, and any of the following offenses can lead to the suspension of your driver’s license.
Driving under the influence (DUI) is one of the most serious offenses you can be charged with in California and anywhere in the country. This is due to the number of car accidents, truck accidents, catastrophic injuries, and wrongful deaths caused by drunk drivers. There are severe criminal punishments and fines for those charged and convicted for DUI in California. For instance, a first DUI offender may face up to $1,000 in fines, up to six months in jail, and a license suspension for up to six months.
If you are a second DUI offender, your penalties may increase. If found guilty for a second DUI violation, you may face up to $1,000 in fines and up to a year in jail. In addition to these penalties, you may receive a license suspension that can last for up to two years. If found guilty for a third DUI violation, you may face up to $1,000 in fines, up to a year in jail, and a three-year license suspension.
Vehicular Manslaughter Conviction
If you are convicted of a felony such as vehicular manslaughter, your license can be suspended for an extended period of time. According to California’s Penal Code 192(c)(1), if you are convicted for vehicular manslaughter involving gross negligence, or financial gain, the California DMV will revoke your license and may not reinstate it until three years have passed.
Hit and Run Charges
Hit and run charges can be especially severe, depending on the nature of the accident and the extent of the damage done. For instance, you can commit the crime of hit and run involving injuries, severe bodily injuries, property damage, and wrongful death, among other instances. Depending on the extent of the injuries and property damage, you could face jail or prison time, hefty fines, and the suspension of your driver’s license for years.
Can a Lawyer Assist Me with My License Suspension in California?
If you had your driver’s license suspended for any of the reasons listed above or any other reason, you may want to consult with an experienced attorney. Yes, law enforcement can suspend your driver’s license. However, there may be details of your arrest that may make your arrest invalid. For instance, police officers need to follow the law, just like any other citizen. Furthermore, police officers are held to higher standards due to their responsibility regarding public safety and enforcement of the law.
If you were pulled over by a police officer and charged with a crime such as DUI, you should consult with a skilled, knowledgeable lawyer. By consulting with a lawyer, you can find out whether you were justifiably pulled over and eventually charged following the letter of the law. If there are discrepancies between your detention and the law, your charges may be dropped.
Furthermore, a lawyer can help you organize any document you may need to serve to meet your license reinstatement in California. By consulting with a lawyer, you’ll be in a better position of making sure your rights are upheld, and everything is in order, following state regulation.
Our Ventura and Santa Barbara Attorneys Can Help You with Your License Suspension Case
While it may not seem as much at first, losing your driver’s license privileges can be frustrating and problematic. This is especially true for those who have to travel long distances to work and have no other way to travel from point A to point B. Our Ventura and Santa Barbara criminal defense lawyers can help you contest the charges against you and avoid the suspension of your license. Thanks to our many years of experience, we can come up with the strategies that can best suit your particular situation. To learn more about all of our services and how we can help you with your driver’s license suspension case, call the Law Offices of Bamieh and De Smeth, PLC today at (805) 643-5555.